Knock provides a programmatic user deletion API that you can use to hard delete users and the data associated with users. This can be especially useful in fulfilling GDPR right-to-be-forgotten requests.
When a user is deleted in Knock, we will hard delete:
- All system and custom properties set on the user
- All preferences associated with the user
- All channel data associated with the user
- All subscriptions associated with the user
- All schedules associated with the user
- All messages sent to that user, including the content of those messages and any debugging events associated
- All activity associated with a user, including the workflow run logs the user was a recipient of
Note: deletion requests can take up to 10 minutes to process. During this time, you may still see some data associated with the user.
No, you must use the API to delete users.
Yes, Knock is GDPR compliant.
Absolutely. You can use our single-user deletion endpoint, or batch up deletion requests per-day using our bulk delete endpoint.
Please get in touch with us if you have this requirement.
You can re-add the same user using the previous user's identifier. The new user will not inherit any of the past user's data, given that will have been deleted.